23 Comments
deletedFeb 5, 2023Liked by Amy Haimerl
Comment deleted
Expand full comment
author

Last year, I read The Cherry Robbers by Sarai Walker and loved the first third and the last third. But the middle third left me ... confused. It was like there were two separate books happening. But I couldn't stop thinking about it, so I made a number of friends read it just so we could talk about it. They felt like they were slogging through. But the story still stuck with us. So is that a successful book, if you can't stop thinking about it -- even if you didn't exactly love it?

Two of my top reads from last year are:

1. Remarkably Bright Creatures by Shelby Van Pelt. Read it just for the curmudgeonly giant octopus, Marcellus. You get to hear directly from his brain and it's brilliant. (https://bookshop.org/a/81582/9780063204157)

2. Creatures by Crissy Van Meter. It's a father-daughter story, a coming of age story, and so much more all set on a fictional island off the coast of Los Angeles. I loved it.

https://bookshop.org/a/81582/9781643750835

Expand full comment
Feb 5, 2023Liked by Amy Haimerl

Just this morning I finished reading Folk Music: A Bob Dylan Biography in Seven Songs, by Greil Marcus. When I saw the binder in the library, it only read the words Folk Music, along with the author's name. I didn't look at the cover until I was walking to my car in the parking lot, immediately thinking to myself, "Jeez, I can't get away from this guy!" I probably own around 75 books on, about and by Bob Dylan. I hated the most famous book Greil Marcus wrote about Bob Dylan, Invisible Republic. However, I wound up liking this book. The one chpter on his cover version of the old folk song "Jim Jones" makes up for any of the book's failings. It has been said of Greil Marcus that "everyhing reminds him of everything else," and it takes him 35 pages in this chapter to mention the song in question, but those 35 pages are steeped in folk music history that I was unaware of and grateful to have read. It made me realise that. to be fair, I never would have obtained Harry Smith's reknown collection The Anthology Of American Folk Music had it not been for Invisible Republic. So, not only did I learn more about folk music, but was forced to make a reassestment about Greil Marcus as a major Dylanologist.

A month or so ago I read, in The New York Times Book Review, about a recent biography on Kathy Acker. In it I discovered that it was the second biography about her. I tried ordering either of them through the Suburban Library Service but, as I highly doubt that they have any of her novels to begin with, they wouldn't and don't have a biography on her. So I ordered the first biography. I met her after a reading she did at the Detroit Institue of Arts, I believe on Valentine's Day in '86, giving her some of my poetry and getting her London address. The one time that she wrote back she gave me encouragement, saying that she liked it, which remains the sole encouragement I've ever received on my work from a published author. Perhaps it will help me to access what is biographical and what is fantasy in her novels. Just knowing more about her life is of interest to me.

In the meantime, I believe I'll peruse a history book about Detroit that my mother found at a garage sale, or something like that. I'll read anything I can about Detroit, which is how I came to read a book about a certain house called Matilda.

Expand full comment
Feb 5, 2023Liked by Amy Haimerl

I just finished Celeste Ng's "Our Missing Hearts," which was beautiful, terrifying, and heartbreaking. I also quite liked Emma Straub's "This Time Tomorrow" - it's a time travel book, with a lot of great NYC detail and lovely 1980s/90s vibes as well. The protagonist is flawed but not in an annoying way. I'm currently reading "The Villa" (Rachel Hawkins), which is moving back and forth in time between the present and the 1970s, with writers and musicians as protagonists who are spending time in the same villa in Italy at different points in time. It's engaging so far. Ah, Italy! How I wish I were there right now.

Expand full comment
Feb 5, 2023Liked by Amy Haimerl

I am very slowly reading The Spook Who Sat by the Door by Sam Greenlee. "a strong comment on entrenched racial inequities in the United States in the late 1960s."Main character is a guy who joins the CIA, and then after he's trained he drops out to train young Black Chicagoans to combat racism as "Freedom Fighters." The slowness of the read is about me, and not the book.

Expand full comment
Feb 5, 2023Liked by Amy Haimerl

I'm reading In Defense of Ska. I'm not entirely sure why. I just finished The World We Make by N.K. Jemisin, which I cannot say enough good things about. Weird and funny and so, so good.

Expand full comment
Feb 6, 2023Liked by Amy Haimerl

Just finished Robert Caro's memoir-ish book, Working: Researching, Interviewing, Writing. Appreciated how he freely credits his wife Ina as co-researcher on his books. Too often the non-public-facing partner's contributions to a creative's success are overlooked. These two clearly make a great team.

On topic of memoir, Kate Beaton's Ducks: Two Years in the Oil Sands is heartbeaking for all the harm caused by this ill-conceived endeavor to pull even more fossil fuels from the ground. The cost to the land, the air, the water, and all living things can never be justified. This destruction of spirit extends to the workers living in these camps.

Appleseed by Matt Bell is a brilliant weaving of tales that speak to humans' fraught relationship with our home planet. This is a book best approached without reading reviews or summaries--just jump in and experience it. Bonus--the author is a Michigander.

Fellowship Point by Alice Elliott Dark is a compelling story of friendship between two older women. It's a refreshing change from the more common focus on protagonists who are either under-50 and/or male.

And, a shout out to Detroit Hustle. Thank you for writing with such honesty and compassion. Waiting for your next book!

Expand full comment
Feb 6, 2023Liked by Amy Haimerl

I’ve finished two non-fiction books (not my usual genre) that have stuck with me. The Woman They Could Not Silence by Kate Moore tells the story of a woman who found herself committed to an insane asylum in Illinois in the 1860’s for “having her own thoughts”, that is, disagreeing with her husband. Elizabeth Packard was a force to be reckoned with and a source of strength and perseverance that one has to admire.

The Warmth of Other Suns by Pulitzer Prize winner Isabel Wilkerson is another book full of facts, but also presented in a well written narrative. It is the story of the Great Migration (of Black Americans) from 1915-1970 (yes, 1970!). It tells the life stories of three Southern migrants who took the overground railroad to New York City, Chicago, and Los Angeles, respectively. It tells an important part of America’s history that those of who did not experience Jim Crow will find revealing and reviling. A must read.

Expand full comment
Feb 7, 2023Liked by Amy Haimerl

Off to a great start this year. In January, I read:

"Greenlights": Not a huge Matthew McConaughey fan, but his narration of his memoir is a hoot. Insightful, funny, inspiring, interesting.

"Surrender: 40 Songs, One Story": Perhaps this would have been better on audio. I really liked it, but coming off "Greenlights," this just didn't have the magic. Worth reading as a U2 fan, though.

"A World of Curiosities" by Louise Penny: I think this is the best installment in the Inspector Gamache series.

"Spare": Another memoir listened to on audio, narrated by Prince Harry. His ghostwriter (J.R. Moehringer of "Tender Bar" fame) is spectacular and certainly elevates the story. I appreciated Harry's honesty and insights and gained a deeper understanding of the nefariousness of the British media. At its heart, though, it's a story of a boy who lost his mother.

"Lessons in Chemistry" by Bonne Garmus: Really liked this. The cover makes it seem like a rom-com, chick-lit book, and it is not. While it's a bit heavy-handed on every stereotype of a working woman in the 1960s, the story is important and I get why Garmus took that approach. And the dog.

Reading now: "Age of Vice" and so far it's worth the hype. Big goal of the year is to read "Demon Copperhead" and "David Copperfield" as a comparative study.

Expand full comment

anything about recent archeology (and archeologists) done in recent times in british isles and particularly new jersey

Expand full comment